Disappointed

4922-Doctor-Who-The-Enemy-of-the-World-UK-DVDJust finished watching “The Enemy of the World and I have to say I was rather disappointed. Very much a case where one shouldn’t believe everything that’s been written over the years about this story. While it’s great to see a Patrick Troughton story that I’ve never seen before, I have to admit that “Enemy” is a bit of a jumbled mess. I don’t think there’s really a story there and if there is, I don’t see the point of it. It’s very much 6 episodes of run around with lots of over-the-top histrionic acting from most of the supporting cast.  I grew rather weary of the story after about three episodes and I found it a big of a long slog getting through the remaining three episodes.

Troughton’s accent as Salamander is quite suspect – I gather Salamander was suppose to be Mexican? Well if so, that was the strangest Mexican accent I’ve ever heard. It sounded more Dutch than anything.  Deborah Watling as Victoria is much less annoying than she was in stories like “Tomb of the Cybermen, while both Watling and Fraser Hines disappear from the story for 2 episodes – must of been the weeks they were on vacation.

Sadly, I’m only giving this one a 5 out of 10.

Here’s hoping the recently discovered “Web of Fear” is much better.

Leave a Reply

